In the meantime…


At that same university, some years later while taking a playwriting class, a fellow student asks me for a ride home. I oblige. He asks me to come up to see his apartment. Why not? I oblige. 

I see toys on the floor. He’s obviously married as he begins – for the first time – to speak of his wife, a woman he finds boring and of little value.

He asks me if I want to sleep with him.

I politely leave after I tell him, “No, not really.”

Misogyny is rampant. The devaluing of women – of wife and mother – of fellow student, of any woman who may satisfy the desires of a bored man.

One comment on “In the meantime…

  1. Thanks H!, Teeny Bikini, Jack Chaser, and Dallas Kelly.

Leave a Reply

